{Book Review} Love & Lies By Kimberla Lawson Roby

Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link and purchase something that we have recommended. While clicking these links won't cost you any extra money, they will help keep this site up and running! Please check out my disclosure policy for more details. Thank you for your support!

Reverend Curtis Black Love Lies Kimberla Lawson Roby.jpg

Hey guys, I’m back with a book review. Yes it has been a long time since I have written a book review but it’s not because I haven’t been reading…lol…really.

Lately, I’ve been trying to read more often. To switch it up some, I decided  to read something a bit different, a novel. It has been a long time since I  read a novel, since high school actually.

These days, I’ve only read spiritual, inspirational, and self-help books but I  found that I had grown a little “tired” of those reads. Don’t get me wrong I  am still reading those books {of course} but I needed something to break the  seriousness so to speak. And it’s working, reading something entertaining  has actually been recharging my mind. Smile So on to the book review.

This particular novel I’m reading was not actually my first choice. I actually  started with another book that I found at the library on the sale rack for  $.50 {don’t sleep on the library now!} when I took my niece to get some books. That book was actually a little boring so I put it down after chapter 2 or 3 and went to my bookcase. I knew I had a novel or two that I’ve been waiting to get round to and this was it.

About the Author:

Kimberla Lawson Roby lives with her husband in Illinois. She is a New York Times bestseller for a multitude of juicy deep books. She has published 20 novels and seems to be well known for her “Curtis Black” series.

About the Book:

The novel is about a high sidity couple, Reverend Curtis Black and his wife Charlotte. Reverend Black has a history of going outside the marriage and sowing his wild oaks. He’s known for his womanizing ways and Charlotte definitely have some skeletons in her closet as well.

In this series, Reverend Black has stepped back from his church to go on tour for book signings for his thriving book deals. His tours are leaving Charlotte home to raise there 10 year old son and 5 year old daughter alone {with the nanny and maids} in there fabulous home. But because of there history of infidelity in the marriage, she has a hard time trusting that he has changed his ways and that he has forgiven her for her old ways.

While taking care the children, she notices that her youngest daughter has been acting strange and down right evil. She’s been acting devious to her brother and in school in secret but like a completely different {loving} person around her father.

We also get to follow Charlotte’s best friend, Janice. Whom is also successful in her own right and has her own drama to deal with with her deadbeat boyfriend turned ex, who did not receive that news well.

My Thoughts

I must say, I LOVE a juicy read… and this was indeed juicy. Starting the book I felt like I missed something {found out later, I was 4 deep in the series Disappointed smile}, but it pulled my attention right away. Further in reading the book I wasn’t sure how I felt. If I liked it or not. I felt like I was waiting for something “big” to happen I’m not sure what but I felt like I was missing something. I also thought that Charlotte was suppose to be the primary character but I was more drawn to Janice, her best friend. I think it’s because I clicked more with her personality. I loved her strong independent personality that was striving to find love.

After looking in to more of Kimberla Lawson Roby books I found that this is apart of a “Curtis Black” series and I came in on the middle. I’ve listed the series below and as you can see I came in on #4, that’s like walking in on the middle of a movie and trying to figure out what’s going on… :/

1 Casting The First Stone Jan-2000
2 Too Much of a Good Thing Jan-2004
3 The Best-Kept Secret Feb-2005
4 Love and Lies Feb-2007
5 Sin No More Feb-2008
6 The Best of Everything Jan-2009
7 Be Careful What You Pray For Jan-2010
8 Love, Honor, and Betray Jan-2011
9 The Reverend’s Wife May-2012
10 A House Divided May 2013
11 The Prodigal Son May 2014

Overall, if your looking for a dramatic novel then this would be it. But I would also suggest starting from the beginning of the series (which I plan to do). 

India Signature